Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
My Rambling
12 février 2007

Ludovic's lecture

I left work an hour early, so that I could get to the Bookworm in time for Ludovic's lecture. I met Ludovic a couple of weeks ago through Vinny and was sorry to miss the first time he talked about his travels, so I wasn't about to miss it again. This time a big group of people showed up to hear what he had to say. I wasn't disappointed.

To briefly introduce Ludo: He's been traveling around the globe for 4 years by hitch-hiking. That's right. He's hitch-hiked around the World, starting in France, going to Africa, South America, Antarctica, North America, Australia, South East Asia and now China. He's hitch-hiked with pretty much anything you can imagine, cars, motorcycles, trucks, sailboats, etc. and hasn't paid for transport in between countries. Pretty remarkable.

His message is also good: Everyone can travel and they should, because it will open their eyes to the World around them. He also talked a bit about the state of our planet, because the more you travel, the more you see the sad state it is in due to human neglect and exploitation.

I really enjoyed his lecture and it gave me a good idea, to do the same when I sail around the World. Why not hold lectures about traveling and the state of our oceans? We need more travelers that are awakened to the state of affairs on our planet... "blind" travelers that go from sight to sight without reflecting on what they see around them serve no purpose, except to feed their own self-indulgence. Since I want to be an awakened traveler this lecture really motivated me.

Publicité
Commentaires
My Rambling
Publicité
Publicité