Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
My Rambling
20 février 2007

A RISKy evening

DSC00488

Vinny and me have been planning to start up our weekly routine involving  dinner and a game of chess. We started it a year ago and kind of took a prolonged break over the summer (yes ... we've been busy and it has been a while, but we've both wanted to start it again). Tonight was slotted to be the night, but alas, it was not to be. Instead we were joined by Ludovic, who just returned from a trip to North Korea, Clayton, MCK and one more guy (I forgot his name). MCK and the "guy" made us an excellent dinner that we tore through.

DSC00485

Ludo then gave us a run-down of his trip to North Korea, which sounded outstanding. He actually went there in a group together with Dashan, so that was a bit funny for us living in Beijing. They say you haven't been in China long enough, "if you've heard of Dashan, but you don't know who he is, but hate him anyway". It's a long running thing that the Chinese love him, while all the expats hate him. Basically his Chinese is awesome, better than most Chinese, so I think it boils down to the expats being envious. Ludo said he was really nice, so I'll take his word until I meet him myself.

DSC00481

After dinner we pulled out the RISK game and the fun began. It was obvious from the get-go that this was going to be a cut-throat game. We had deals made in the bathroom, bedrooom and hallways with quiet whispers and affirming nods around the table. Unfortunately I had to work the next day, so I couldn't stay till the end. I'm sure it proved to be an exciting game that lasted into the wee hours.

DSC00484

I grabbed my longboard and rolled home filled with a delicious dinner and my head spinning from the gaming. This reminds me that I have a great board-game at home that I need to try ... hmmm ... soon!

Publicité
Commentaires
My Rambling
Publicité
Publicité